Term Dates

2017 - 2018

PDF icon School Term and Holiday Dates 2017 - 2018

Term 1 - 2017

Start Day for Year 7 and their Buddies - Tuesday 5th September 2017
Start Day for Year 8, 9, 10 & 11 - Wednesday 6th September 2017
Finish Day - Friday 20th October 2017

October Break - 2017

Start Day - Monday 23rd October 2017
Finish Day - Friday 27th October 2017

Term 2 - 2017

Start Day -Monday 30th October 2017
Finish Day - Thursday 21st December 2017

Christmas Break - 2017

Start Day - Friday 22nd December 2017
Finish Day - Friday 5th January 2018

Term 3 - 2018

Start Day - Monday 8th January 2018
Finish Day - Friday 9th February 2018

February Break - 2018

Start Day - Monday 12th February 2018
Finish Day - Friday 16th February 2018

Term 4 - 2018

Start Day - Monday 19th February 2018
Finish Day - Thursday 29th March 2018

Easter Break - 2018

Start Day - Friday 30th March 2018
Finish Day - Friday 13th April 2018

Term 5 - 2018

Start Day - Monday 16th April 2018
Finish Day - Friday 25th May 2018

May Break - 2018

Start Day - Monday 28th May 2018
Finish Day - Friday 1st June 2018

Term 6 - 2018

Start Day - Monday 4th June 2018
Finish Day - Friday 20th July 2018

 

Bank and Public Holidays 2017 - 2018

Christmas Day - Monday 25th December 2017
Boxing Day - Tuesday 26th December 2017
New Years Day - Monday 1st January 2018
Good Friday - Friday 30th March  2018
Easter Monday - Monday 2nd April 2018
May Day Bank Holiday - Monday 7th May 2018
Spring Bank Holiday - Monday 28th May 2018
Summer Bank Holiday - Monday 27th August 2018

INSET DAYS 2017 - 2018

 INSET Day 1 - Monday 4th September 2017 
 INSET Day 2 - Friday 5th January 2018
 INSET Day 3 - Thursday 29th March 2018
 INSET Day 4 - Friday 13th April 2018
 INSET Day 5 - Monday 23rd July 2018

Holidays in Term Time

The law does not grant parents an automatic right to take their child out of education during term time.  The Department for Education, however, does allow the Principal the discretion to consider authorising a student’s leave of absence in term time but only in “exceptional circumstances”.  If you consider that your request falls into this category you will need to complete the form on the reverse of this notification.  A response will be sent to you as soon as possible. If the withdrawal is not considered to be an exceptional circumstance, and you nevertheless take your child out of school, the absence will be recorded as unauthorised in line with current guidance.

Unauthorised absence can result in legal intervention being taken against a parent for the irregular attendance or punctuality of their child to school.  Legal intervention that may be considered includes; issue of a fixed penalty notice or consideration may be given to a prosecution in a Magistrates Court under the Education Act 1996.

 

A penalty notice is a fine of £60 which increases to £120 if not paid within the first 21 days. Thereafter, if the penalty remains unpaid this may result in legal action.  Please note that such a penalty is issued to each parent for each child taken out of school.  A conviction of an offence under Section 444(1) of the Education Act 1996 may result in a fine of £1000.  If the matter is considered to be more serious, then proceedings can be taken under Section 444(1A) and fines can be up to £2,500 or a prison sentence imposed.

 

All holiday requests must be directed to our Attendance Assistant, Miss Killey, who will send you a form to complete. Letters will not be accepted. The form should be returned to the Academy at least 14 days before the start of the absence.

In considering the decision whether to authorise the following will be taken into account:-

 

  • Reason given for your child’s withdrawal from school.
  • The time of the year/term.
  • Whether your child will miss test/examinations or preparation for these.

I hope you will support our efforts to raise attendance and attainment at our Academy.